

InterPore Foundation for Porous Media Science and Technology

2023 Annual Report

Letter from the Directors

During 2023 the InterPore Foundation for Porous Media Science and Technology, which was formed in 2016 as a non-profit, non-governmental, independent organization, further extended its operations within its mission.

The main operational activity was to finance awards for excellence and diversity in the broad field of porous media and for honouring distinguished talented researchers and lecturers. The foundation additionally facilitates the participation of promising young scientists in international scientific gatherings hosted by InterPore and provides assistance to outstanding young scientists from countries with financial difficulties to join InterPore activities. At InterPore 2023, 21 participants were offered a grant which included registration fees and contributions towards travel costs.

Particularly, the InterPore Foundation video was published with the primary objective of presenting our work better and attracting public attention to receive more donations. We also made "fundraising thermometer" showing the donation progress on the website to attract more people's attention. Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship and Rien-van-Genuchten awards were renewed for another 3-year term.

Activities in 2023 were:

- Handling Conference (travel) Grants for the 2023 InterPore Annual Meeting
- Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
- InterPore PoreLab Award for Young Researchers
- InterPore Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship in Porous Media Science & Technology
- Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World
- InterPore Medal for Porous Media Research
- InterPore Award for Porous Media Research
- MDPI Energies Student Poster Award

The awards handled by InterPore Society:

- InterPore Time Capsule
- InterPore Meritorious Service Medal



- InterPore National Chapter Award
- InterPore Rosette

Overall, we've had a successful 2023 and are looking forward to an even better 2024 to increase our activities to support porous media research and outreach around the world, as well as having the honour to finance awards. We hope you'll join us on the journey!

With best regards,

The InterPore Foundation Directors



Awards Granted in 2023

• Honorary Lifetime Membership Award

Dorthe Wildenschild

• Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship Award

Ruben Juanes

• InterPore Medal for Porous Media Research

Philippe Coussot

• InterPore Award for Porous Media Research

Pejman Tahmasebi

• InterPore – PoreLab Award for Young Researchers

Pranay Shrestha

Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World

Junjie Zhong

MDPI Energies Student Poster Award

Milad Naderloo - TU-Delft, Netherlands

Philip J. Salter - University of Strathclyde, UK



2023 Financial Report

2023			
	Equity Balance 31.12.2023	46.516,70	EUR
	Liability Balance 31.12.2023	39.583,34	EUR
	Total equity & liability 31.12.2023	6933,36	EUR
	Total Income	16.684,14	EUR
	Total Spending	- 10,884,69	EUR
	Net income 31.12.2023	5799,45	EUR
	Income		
	Donations from InterPore	10.550,29	EUR
	Donations Others	4.219,00	EUR
	Funding of awards	1.000,00	EUR
	Donation InterPore Academy (short course profit share)	914,85	EUR
	Spending		
	Bank Charges	-567,12	EUR
	Conference & short course grants	-10.317,57	EUR



Donors and Sponsors

A number of institutions have generously supported the Foundation in 2023 and we would like to thank them for helping to promote and sustain Porous Media research!



InterPore Society for Porous Media



Kimberly-Clark Corporation



PoreLab



MDPI Energies



Volunteers

Board of Directors:

- Steffen Berg, Chair, Shell Global Solutions International B.V., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
- Andrew Baker, Vice Chair, Kimberly-Clark, USA
- Azita Ahmadi, Treasurer, Arts et Metiers Institute of Technology Bordeaux, France
- Noushine Shahidzadeh, Communications Office, Amsterdam University, The Netherlands
- Andrea Peri, Communications Officer, Procter & Gamble, USA
- Yongfei Yang, Secretary, China University of Petroleum (East China), China
- Afshin Goharzadeh, Fundraising Officer, Khalifa University, UAE

Officers:

- Karolin Weber, InterPore Executive Officer
- Amy Spang, InterPore Secretary
- Kristy Lutz, Support Finances