

InterPore Foundation for Porous Media Science and Technology

2024 Annual Report

Letter from the Directors

The InterPore Foundation for Porous Media Science and Technology was formed in 2016 as a nonprofit, non-governmental, independent organization, with the aim to facilitate the outreach and educational activities of Interpore, to facilitate the participation of researchers from countries with financial difficulties and students in InterPore events, and to seek funding for awards and grants given by Interpore.

The foundation's Board of Directors oversees the soundness of the procedures of the selection committees for awards and grants, and decides on the final acceptance of nominated awardees or grantees. In 2024, the foundation's main activities included the handling of:

- Conference (travel) Grants for the 2024 InterPore Annual Meeting: 12 participants were offered a grant which included registration fees and contributions towards travel costs.
- Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
- Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship Award
- InterPore Medal for Porous Media Research
- InterPore Award for Porous Media Research
- InterPore PoreLab Award for Young Researchers
- Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World
- MDPI Energies Student Poster Award

The awards handled by InterPore Society:

- InterPore Time Capsule
- InterPore Meritorious Service Medal
- InterPore National Chapter Award
- InterPore Rosette

In addition, the Foundation's bylaws have been updated to include an article on the handling of awards and grants.



After the summer of 2024, the Board of Directors has been renewed. Andrew Baker, previously Vice-Chair, has been appointed as the new Chair. Afshin Goharzadeh transitioned from his role as Fundraising Officer to Vice-Chair, Steffen Berg from Chair to Treasurer, and Yongfei Yang from Secretary to Communications Officer. We are pleased to welcome our new board members: Anne Hansen, who joins as Communications Officer; Kamaljit Singh, our new Fundraising Officer; and Hannelore Derluyn, who takes on the roles of Secretary and DEI Liaison for the Foundation. We extend our heartfelt thanks to former board members Azita Ahmadi, Noushine Shahidzadeh, and Andrea Peri for their invaluable contributions to the Foundation.

As we look ahead to 2025, we are excited to further enhance our support for porous media research and global outreach. We invite you to join us in raising awareness of the Foundation's mission and securing the financial resources needed to expand its impact.

With best regards,

The InterPore Foundation Directors



Awards Granted in 2024

Honorary Lifetime Membership Award

Sally Benson

- Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship Award
 Ruben Juanes
- InterPore Medal for Porous Media Research
 Alberto Guadagnini
- InterPore Award for Porous Media Research
 Ryan Armstrong
- InterPore PoreLab Award for Young Researchers
 Bauyrzhan Primkulov
- Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World
 Serveh Kamrava
- MDPI Energies Student Poster Award

Yang Meng – Eastern Institute of Technology Ningbo, China

Feihu Ke – The University of Hong Kong



2024 Financial Report

2024			
	Equity Balance 31.12.2024	69.222,80	EUR
	Liability Balance 31.12.2024	63.115,10	EUR
	Total equity & liability 31.12.2024	6.107,70	EUR
	Total Income	6.948,80	EUR
	Total Spending	- 7.774,46	EUR
	Net income 31.12.2024	- 825,66	EUR
	Income		
	Donations from InterPore	0,00	EUR
	Donations Others	3.927,12	EUR
	Funding of awards	778,00	EUR
	Donation InterPore Academy (short course profit share)	2.243,68	EUR
	Spending		
	Bank Charges	-294,46	EUR
	Conference & short course grants	-7480,00	EUR



Donors and Sponsors

A number of institutions have generously supported the Foundation in 2024 and we would like to thank them for helping to promote and sustain Porous Media research!



InterPore Society for Porous Media



Kimberly-Clark Corporation



PoreLab



MDPI Energies



Volunteers

Board of Directors (January-August 2024):

- Steffen Berg, Chair, Shell Global Solutions International B.V., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
- Andrew Baker, Vice Chair, Kimberly-Clark, USA
- Azita Ahmadi, Treasurer, Arts et Metiers Institute of Technology Bordeaux, France
- Noushine Shahidzadeh, Communications Officer, Amsterdam University, The Netherlands
- Andrea Peri, Communications Officer, Procter & Gamble, USA
- Yongfei Yang, Secretary, China University of Petroleum (East China), China
- Afshin Goharzadeh, Fundraising Officer, Khalifa University, UAE

Board of Directors (since September 2024):

- Andrew Baker, Chair, Kimberly-Clark, USA
- Afshin Goharzadeh, Vice Chair, Khalifa University, UAE
- Steffen Berg, Treasurer, Shell Global Solutions International B.V., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
- Anne Hansen, Communications Officer, Instituto Mexicano de Tecnología del Agua, Mexico
- Yongfei Yang, Communications Officer, China University of Petroleum (East China), China
- Hannelore Derluyn, Secretary & DEI Liaison, CNRS Université de Pau et des Pays de l'Adour, France
- Kamaljit Singh, Fundraising Officer, Heriot-Watt University, UK

Officers:

- Karolin Weber, InterPore Executive Officer
- Amy Spang, InterPore Secretary
- Kristy Lutz, Support Finances